Looking at faith

20 09 2008

photo by David Harasti

photo by David Harasti

I was asked to write an article about ‘faith’ and I wanted to know what it meant to others around me. I went to several stores, talked to friends and family, and found myself a bit overwhelmed by the abundance of ‘definitions.’ Yet it was a good ‘overwhelmed’ as I watched the faces soften and thought really get put into the moment by most.

 

Faith is:

Having what the G-d wants us to have.

Belief.

Trusting that the Lord knows what we need.

Giving up problems to a Supreme Being.

Faith is walking on when your eyes and body tell you to stop.

Faith builds through experience and then you come to trust more.

Hope.

I don’t really believe in a god; just my decisions and choices.

Deciding what I want or need and talking it out with my higher power.

Faith is granted petitions from Almighty God.

 

I have to say I found reason to like everyone’s though the last one in particular stood out and I wanted to remember where I’d seen a similar idea.

 

(I John 5: 14-15) And this is the confidence that we have in him, that if we ask any thing according to his will, he heareth us; 15. And if we know that he hear us, whatsoever we ask, we know that we have the petitions that we desired of him.

 

What I remembered after reading the I John passage was: how many times I’ve done this over the years and allowed the answer to lead me in the right direction; then look back later and realize that indeed it was the very best decision? As soon as I took my hands off of the problem and turned it over to ONE who knew what to do and with the power to do; life was better. Sure I might be uncomfortable or want so badly to control an outcome, but I do not see the future from where I sit. With each time I practice ‘letting go and letting God,’ I practice and show my faith that He is always in control. That’s me and you do not have to agree.

 

I thought it interesting that no one I spoke with included the world in their comment. Each seemed to be dealt with from within; a very personal experience. As one lady shared, ‘Faith is walking on when your eyes and body tell you to stop. It builds through experience and then you come to trust more.’ And yet it is in the world that we move and learn through experience… for now. One of my own experiences in faith and waiting on the Creator links below. If you have time have a ‘read’.

 

www.saffronsite.wordpress.com/

Actions

Information

4 responses

27 09 2008
dcrelief

Interestingly, I find that I am currently holding on to my faith by a thread, but I am listening for the voice of the Creator. I believe He has a new direction if I will only accept. I struggle with what I ‘think’ I will lose, but there’s really always more to gain by following His ways. I must be closer to the path as I write. I John is always comforting; may it bless you greatly.

24 09 2008
SerenityLife

Thank you for your Bible verse from John. I needed to read, feel and experience these words of wisdom today. God really does use as all as vessels but we have to receptive to really LISTEN to his journey for us. Bless you!

23 09 2008
omegetymon

Agin I leave you word of just how well you’re thoughts are translating to us all. om

20 09 2008
omegetymon

And YOU wanted to quit. Sometimes, when you’ve stepped in something unsavory, ‘While watching the herd’, the scattered “gifts” that once had fed the flock are transplanted though your steps of incredulousness. The “path” is now established through the olfactory. om

say sump'in n'telligent!

